The 2015 Toy Industry Awards were presented at a gala event held in Olympia’s Apex Room following the first day of the 63rd annual Toy Fair, which took place at Olympia in West London.

BTHA Chairman, Phil Ratcliffe, announced the winners of the Toy Retailer of the Year Awards, and TRA Chairman, Alan Simpson, unveiled the Toy and Supplier of the Year Awards. The full line up of winners follows:



Independent Toy Retailer of the Year                                                                 Aladdin’s Cave

Specialist Multiple Toy Retailer of the Year (up to 5 stores)                          Toytown (Seaford)

Specialist Multiple Toy Retailer of the Year (up to 30 stores)                       Toy Barnhaus

Specialist Multiple Toy Retailer of the Year (over 30 stores)                         Smyths Toys

General Multiple Toy Retailer of the Year                                                          Argos

Department Store Toy Retailer of the Year                                                        W J Daniel & Co

Online Toy Retailer of the Year                                                                             Shop Direct

Overall Toy Retailer of the Year                                                          Smyths Toys



Collectable Range of the Year                     Shopkins, Flair

Construction Range of the Year                 Star Wars, Lego

Action Toy of the Year                                  Nerf Modulus, Hasbro

Doll of the Year                                             Disney Frozen Sing-Along-Elsa, Jakks Pacific

Interactive Toy of the Year                         Little Live Pets Bird Cage, Character

Creative Toy of the Year                              Wacky-tivities Kinetic Sand, Spin Master

Pre-School Toy of the Year                         Paw Patrol Paw Patroller, Spin Master

Innovative Toy of the Year                          IDo3D Deluxe 3D Design Studio, Flair

Feature Plush Toy of the Year                    Puppy Surprise, Trends UK

Toy Licence of the Year                               Frozen, Disney

Special Recognition Award                         EPOCH making toys

Personality of The Year                               Paul Dean, Mattel

Supplier of the Year                                     Lego

Toy of the Year                                    Pie Face, Hasbro


Outstanding personal performance and achievement was celebrated by both sides of the industry. The Toy Retailers Association presented their Special Recognition Award to EPOCH making toys. The British Toy & Hobby Association presented Golden Teddy awards to Tom Beach of the toy industry’s technical and safety world, and Mike Frost of Generation Media. The Toy Retailers Association also paid tribute to the personal achievement of Paul Dean, retiring from Mattel, for his continuous commitment to supporting the independent sector throughout his career.


Phil Ratcliffe, Chairman of the BTHA: “On behalf of the BTHA, I would like to congratulate all the winners of this year’s Toy Retailer Awards. It was pleasing to see an increase in entries this year, especially from the independent sector and UK department stores. The judges deliberated long and hard to find this year’s winners because of the very high standard of entries received. Congratulations must also go to our worthy runners-up who, it should still be remembered, were the best in their categories, and our sincere thanks to everyone for their participation.”


Alan Simpson, Chairman of the TRA, added: “This has been a good year for our industry with buoyant sales and some recovery of margin. Those companies who were selected by our panel as worthy winners this year have each made unique contributions to that success with new standards of excellence in licence marketing, toy design, innovation and service to the core channel of retailers, who reflect those same standards on-line and in the high street”


Look back at 2014 winners